POETRY

The Grace of Mindful Gratitude

Lola Rosario
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2024

--

You are not a drop in the ocean; you are the entire ocean in a drop.
~ Jalāl ad-Dīn Muhammad Balkhī Rumi, 13th-century Philosopher, Islamic scholar, Poet

my every breath is a blessing
for this I give thanks

the breeze caressing my back
is a blessing

birds singing fill my ears, a reminder
of a complete sense of hearing

gently, my heart beats as I notice
the rise and fall of my chest

cars race by on the adjacent street
each driver, another story

the wind washing across my face
again, another gift

this body, I call my vehicle
gracing me with its every wonder

on my balcony, I take the time
to be fully present with the now

my every breath is a blessing
for this I give thanks

Shout out to Ashe Samuel, for her inspiration and motivation with mindfulness in “gratitude throughout the day.”

As I sat outside, on my balcony, meditating (adding a bit of yoga afterward), I processed the…

--

--