The Morning Routine — It Isn’t Brain Surgery

Well, yeah, maybe it is

Sreese
Blue Insights
Published in
7 min readMar 14, 2023

--

Photo by THE 5TH on Unsplash

Do you ever think about the morning routine, the moment-by-moment, movement-by-movement stuff you do without thinking? The question came to me after a discussion at work last week. The question was whether or not we turned the shower on before stepping in or after we entered the shower stall or tub. This morning I paid more attention and found that I was inaccurate about my routine when describing it yesterday.

I described the routine when I stay at my sister’s house, lately about once a month. It’s because I have to think about it when I’m there. At home, it’s a little bit different, but I’m finding I’m still in the minority by turning the water on after I enter the shower.

I had to let my coworkers know. I sent a text to one, saying “…what I said yesterday was the routine at my sister’s place. So your idea of turning on the shower first DOES make more sense (when I’m there.)”

However, I turn on the water at home and set the temperature according to my foot under the spout. It still only takes a few seconds. Then I tilt the shower head down, pull the diverter, and tilt the head back up after the first few cold squirts are gone. That all makes perfect sense to me. It was good to have something to think about heading into the shower this morning.

--

--

Sreese
Blue Insights

Western New Yorker, musician, construction supply chain veteran, memoirist, never say never-ist. Top Writer in Sports and 2x Top Writer in Music.