The Old Story

Hindi and English Poem

Priyanka Srivastava
Published in
1 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

art by Author

कुछ पुराना सा
जो कभी किताबों में पढ़ा था
कुछ वैसा जो अब दिखता नहीं है।
कोई ऐसी कहानी जो अभी भी
ज़िंदा है कही।
कुछ ऐसे रंग जो बिना कुछ बतायें
दिखा दे वो सपने।
कुछ पुराना सा
जो अभी भी लगता है
एक इंतज़ार के तरह छुपा है कही।

Something which is old
which I read once in a book.
something which I can’t
find anywhere else.
that story which is still
alive somewhere.
those colours which would
show that dream.
something which is old
but like a poem waiting
somewhere.

Radha and Krishna story everyone knows in India. This poem is inspired from the same nostalgia and the many stories which I heard during my childhood and later told the same to my son. Stories condition us. And connect us with our culture. This art is work in progress, what intrigued me in this painting is the betel leaf in Radha’s hand. You can read more about Pan or Betel leaves here.

--

--

Priyanka Srivastava

Editor of Literary Impulse, Writer when I am free, Artist when my words are silent and reader when there are books which I love to read.