Photo by stephen packwood on Unsplash

The Pause

A poem

--

Beige colored ribbons and satin dresses

hanging in the old cabinet.

Musk scented candles and silverware

lying on the unmade bed.

Half-written letters and brown envelopes

crumpled in the waste paper basket.

Achieving a new high every single day.

And then reducing into a mess.

Where did I lose myself?

Fountain pens and metal nibs

and calligraphy practice sheets.

Spencerian or Copperplate,

Which one will look neat?

Leather-bound books of

Shakespeare and John Keats.

Postponing reading for another day.

Then, getting bored of everything else.

Where did I lose myself?

Watching old movies while looking

at Victorian dresses.

Making excuses to avoid combing

my long brown tresses.

Reading the biographies

of 70’s actresses.

Getting lost in a new labyrinth every day.

Finding no cure from thoughtlessness.

Where did I lose myself?

--

--