The Power of Rain

Debra Simon
Blue Insights
1 min readJun 10, 2019

--

by Wolkenengel/565 on Shutterstock

I wish it would rain,
mist down to surround us,
like amniotic fluid
to protect and nourish,
give birth to green.

I wish it would rain,
fat and happy drops,
pattering down with playground exuberance
in splashy giggles
and leapfrogging hops.

I wish it would rain
in little pin pricks
to prod us awake in our
myopic daydream deserts,
quenching self-obsession.

I wish it would rain
in solid prison bars
strong enough to restrain those
who place babies in cages
and criminalize dark skin.

I wish it would rain
in gushing torrents
to flash flood away
guns that terrorize and slaughter us
in masses.

I wish it would rain,
crash down in waterfalls,
to erode the impenetrable rocks
of misogyny,
and awe us with the majestic power
of women

I wish it would rain,
flow swiftly down in rivers
to dilute, degrade,
and decompose the pollutants
of our neglect.

I wish it would rain,
seep like watercolors
onto the canvas of our lives
and harmoniously blend
a vibrant composition
of human luminescence.

We need to make it rain.

--

--

Debra Simon
Blue Insights

Freelance writer, teacher, exuberant knitter, lover of words and dogs