The Power of Society’s Course

I lived the life that society said, ignoring the dread that was in my head…

Niaby
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2022

--

Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

When I was just a little girl,
I had a very pretty curl.
I’m sure that I was very sweet,
And kept my bedroom nice and neat.

I know that I had lots of friends,
And kept up with the latest trends.
I tried real hard to fit in,
And promised God I would not sin.

I always did what mummy said,
Rights and wrongs put in my head.
I listened to my teachers lies,
Believing it would make me wise.

I lived the life that society said,
Ignoring the dread that was in my head.
I went to college after school,
I didn’t want to be a fool.

I got a job in the city,
Always looking neat and pretty.
I put the money in the bank,
My weight in gold I drank and drank.

I pushed my doubts far away,
And sold my soul for the pay.
I put a smile on my face,
And carried on in the rat race.

Society patted me on the back,
My life I really had on track.
My job showed me what I was worth,
And paid for merriment and mirth.

I really held all the power,
Even when my heart turned sour.
I knew I held the ace of spades,
As long as I was getting paid.

Society couldn’t take from me,
Convinced that I was truly free.
Society it held no power,
I blossomed liked a poisoned flower.

Society had got it right,
I spent my life in fight or flight.
Society had got it right,
When it took away my soul’s true light.

--

--

Niaby
Blue Insights

Author of THE SPIRIT OF LIFE & host of THE SPIRIT OF LIFE IN IBIZA podcast. Healer, Medium, Spiritual Teacher, Inspirational Speaker, Pioneer of Consciousness.