The Shadows

Of the sea.

David Rudder
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readAug 28, 2023

--

Photograph thanks to Grindle Rudder.

Across the Bay waves melt away
And shimmer in the sun,
Then they form , before a storm,
And carry on their way.

Clouds fly by and sometimes sigh,
And eclipse the lips of light,
Casting deep sea shadows,
A bite-like part of night.

Shadows scud across the sea,
And grey the horse’s manes,
And interrupt the patterns,
Of the wind’s long-flowing trains.

On the blue horizon,
Shadows dance with mist,
And blur and blind the senses,
And fill in the parts I miss.

A calypsonian symphony,
A cadence of the deep,
Blacks and blues in different hues,
Into my mind creep.

A misty metamorphosis,
A moment seen then gone,
The silent sky washed by the rain,
The wand of Oberon.

I watch and think if I blink,
The scene may disappear,
The great unfolding mystery,
Once out of reach is near.

Shadows slip between the shrouds,
Upon cloaks that nature wears,
I watch the waxing wonderment,
That nature only dares.

©

David Rudder
2023

--

--

David Rudder
Blue Insights

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.