The Smiling Priest

Be Where You Are

Varun Jain
Blue Insights
Published in
3 min readSep 20, 2020

--

Photo by Georgia Maciel from Pexels

Right next to my house in my hometown there is a beautiful red church. The back entrance of the church is right adjacent to the entrance to my apartment. Quite often a priest used to sit a few feet behind that entrance for an hour or so in the morning and very lovingly used to wish “Good Morning” to people passing by. A very lively face with a vibrant smile with all his good wishes used to greet total strangers passing by.

Last year, when I visited my hometown, I was once walking by this entrance and was quite caught up in my tsunami of thoughts. I have noticed the more I am silent inside the more relaxed and slow are my movements outside. When I am noisy inside my movements outside are more swift. Due to the huge flow of thoughts, I was walking at a quick pace as I passed that entrance. I would have gone around 10 steps further ahead from that entrance and I felt that I heard someone wish me a good morning. I was too occupied with my thoughts and it was like a vague feeling that someone had wished me. I knew it must be the priest. That sound had gone within, even if I wasn’t present to it. I stood there for a second, I could have gone back 10 steps and returned the greeting but I chose to go on thinking — I’ll wish him next time.

I didn’t see him for a few days and the next thing I heard about him was that he had left his body.

I didn’t get my ‘next time’.

I didn’t know him, never talked to him apart from the occasional morning greeting, nor I ever visited the church since I am not born into a Christian family but I felt a deep sense of regret that I wish I were more present at that time when he wished me good morning or at least should have gone those 10 steps back to wish him. This regret is a price I paid for not being present in the moment and being lost in my thoughts.

As we dwell on our life situations giving it a lot of value, we miss out on life itself which truly has all the value. We need to discern between life and life situations. Life situations are fleeting and of not much value whereas life is eternal and invaluable.

We are allowing life to slip away from our own hands when we are either dwelling in what has happened, or what will happen or what should happen. Life is passing moment by moment. Each moment when we are aware, we are truly living, squeezing the juice out of that moment of whatever life is offering. The times when we are not aware, we are losing out on living. Those moments remain ‘unsqueezed’ which turns into regrets later in life, especially on our deathbeds.

”You only realize you were alive, when you are about to die. But then it’s too late”.

OSHO

Live while we have a chance. One can only live when one is present and all accepting of what life offers. I learned my lesson and try to bring my attention to this moment as much as I can. It is as slippery as an eel but I am sure with practice it will stay.

At times when I pass by the church and happen to glance at that entrance, his smiling face pops up and I just wish him well wherever he is.

©️ Varun Jain 2020. All Rights Reserved.

Thanks for stopping by. If you enjoyed this then check out few of my other articles/poems.

--

--

Varun Jain
Blue Insights

Writing is therapy for me. An integral part of my spiritual journey