Time

Do we take Life for granted?

Daniel M.
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2022

--

I was sitting at a restaurant, alone, waiting for my waffles to be ready. To my right, an old man was seated, alone, as well. At a distance I could see some families having breakfast, but just a few. I usually don’t bother listening to others’ conversations, as they tend to bore me. However, a distinct tone of excitement caught my attention that day. An old lady approached the old man, with a huge smile on her face, and greeted him. They were both in shock at how long ago it had been since they last saw each other. A sense of nostalgia kept being portrayed, as they continued to talk about how fast time had passed by since they last hung out. And so I reflected on this. I began to question myself, how fast do they actually feel that time has passed by? Do they really feel like years have passed by without them even noticing it? I believe so. I mean, it feels like it was only yesterday when I was getting ready to go to high school. However, high school was almost 10 years ago. If time does fly by so effortlessly, then maybe next time I reflect on this I’ll be an elder myself too.

What about the old lady? What was she all excited about, anyways? Maybe her delight had more to do with her desire to turn back time, to the good old days that she took for granted at the time.

Originally written on Saturday, May. 1st, 2022 (Edits: Sunday, June 12, 2022)

--

--