Tragedy

Saman Jawaid
Blue Insights

--

A poem

Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

You think of me while reading tragic poets,
I write about you in my love sonnets.
We were so different, yet so alike,
All I am to you is a tragedy, right?

I loved Plath, but you adored Christie,
My thoughts were like handcuffs while yours set you free.
To finish your detective stories, I kept awake till midnight,
All I am to you is a tragedy, right?

My sweet, burning feelings and my long lost glance,
Your infectious smile put me in a trance.
While I kept hoping, you disappeared from plain sight,
All I am to you is a tragedy, right?

Your silver memories play like old films in my head,
Do I remind you of the time you were stressed?
You were a pleasant hymn, I was like an elegy sung at night,
All I am to you is a tragedy, right?

My rose-gold fantasies never came true,
When I stepped forward, you withdrew.
All my life, I kept staring at the green light,
All I am to you is a tragedy, right?

--

--