Transience

Monica Ashokumar
Blue Insights
1 min readNov 21, 2023

--

Photo by Mitchell McCleary on Unsplash

It was late autumn, a time when most of the trees had shed.
Bright yellows and reds fading out into dull grays and whites.
Dreary times between transitions where it is harder to think ahead.
Should I stay in the ground awhile or soar to the towering heights?
So much to do and so much to see, yet I also enjoy just existing
Amidst such quick changing scenery, what beauty it weaves!
Surrounded by free falling leaves, with such serenity drifting.
I heard of unspoken words from the rustle of falling leaves,
Each urging me to let go, that nothing ever was everlasting.

The skies were filled with dark and heavy clouds,
threatening to break and bring forth the unforgiving rains.
Uncertain times when it is harder to follow the crowds.
Should I coexist or set myself apart and tug at the restraints?
So many to please and so many to coax, yet I enjoy just the silence.
With the thundering rains, the worldly cacophony is lost.
Surrounded by a rain-drenched landscape and quiet stillness.
I saw the slowly fading scenery and the beginning of frost,
Each reminding me of the inevitable passage of time.

--

--

Monica Ashokumar
Blue Insights

Clinical Research Audiologist | PhD in Cognitive Sciences