Traveling Through The Valley of Disappointment is Normal

How long do we have to wait for breakthroughs to happen? Is the struggle worth it?

Jack Road
Blue Insights
Published in
4 min readNov 8, 2021

--

Photo by Tim Gouw from Pexels

I’m a toddler in the world of writing. I am only learning to walk and haven’t found the words to express myself yet.

2021 is my first year of publishing, and while I’ve accomplished goals and connected with more people than I expected, let’s be honest: I’ve done Jack all(big pun intended).

I am a tiny dot on the long timeline of my writing history, and I have a long way to get still. I am aware of all this, which I believe helps me. Too many quit too early because they fail to realize the hard work needed to succeed at anything.

Listen to the old platitudes: patience is the key; success takes time; good things come to those who wait.

James Clear, in his book, Atomic Habits, calls this period the valley of disappointment. The valley of disappointment represents the early stages of development when acquiring any new skill or proficiency. In this stage, progress is incredibly slow or non-existent. It is the moment when most people decide to pack it up and leave.

--

--

Jack Road
Blue Insights

Writer on the move. Vagabond, visiting the world and exploring everything. Journeys are happiness in motion. Let’s break the 9-5 hustle.