Village Life In Rural Alaska

Memories of my years in Anaktuvuk Pass, bring to the surface contentment and peace.

Pamela J. Nikodem, MSED
Blue Insights
Published in
3 min readFeb 23, 2022

--

Photo Credit Carl Anderson,

Brilliant blue skies formed a perfect backdrop to the winter’s lingering grip upon an isolated, remote village in Alaska. Wandering along the edge of town, carefully avoiding the areas where the snow would drop you down three feet, I clammered along the and kept my eyes upon the mountains. I loved the afternoons.

We only had a few hours of pure daylight, so the moments mattered.

Autumn seasons came and disappeared within weeks. We usually had our first snow by August 23, and that signaled time for school. Even so, the beautiful mountains called to my soul as I walked to and from the school.

I looked up and saw Suakpik looming ahead. I loved this mountain. The rocky, spiked peak and often the silver grey of the stone precipice made me want to climb it, even though I knew I couldn’t, at least not without major assistance.

Below the mountain, the John river ran through the middle of town. Rippling in the spring, with high waters and frozen over in the winter, the river delighted all. Skaters, swimmers, and fishing pleased at least one person every season.

My friends would wear homemade mukluks and slide on the ice. I wanted a pair…

--

--

Pamela J. Nikodem, MSED
Blue Insights

❤ Positive-focused Motivational Speaker❤ Writer ❤ Domestic Violence Educator @ www.advancedbehavioralchanges.org ❤ Catch the Spark❤ Counselor ❤ Relationships ❤