Waning Moons

Rainman
Blue Insights
2 min readJun 17, 2021

--

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

I have taken to loving a little less each passing day.
A vestige of what was left of an old fray.

Scaring spurning into a fading ache
barely some wait away from only its shade

what was left in ambers of your sacred pillage
ruins in my holy land, of a sacrilege.

Love turned bleak that humid summer
hearts and rock in tandem did weather

a decay, autumn could whimper say,
the rains of winter in discreet lay; that you were long gone when you said you were here to stay

hoping on waning moons, your shadow would like you sulk away
I have taken to loving a little less each passing day.

Contracting conforming within spaces opaque
a little less of me I reckon I be, each drifting break

dwindling into echoes of a coming age
little in remote hope, spring brought to lovers wage

drowning in depths of an otherwise shallow shore
how I wish an easier price would have sufficed the asking’s for.

feeding starving me through these nights and day
the fervent memories and a ruthless goodbye

leaking through the tiny cracks in sky, it all sway
as I have taken to loving a little less each passing day …

©️ Rainman

Thank you for reading the poem.
Author’s Note :

It’s been a long time I could come up with something to fill my tabs. The pandemic has had a late bloom in my country and being at the frontline of it, I have been relentlessly tending to its wreckage for the last few months at stretch. Hope seemed so far off at times…
I had started showing symptoms of covid 19 last week, courtesy of being exposed to the uncountable inpatients whom I was caring for.
Now that the reports are out and I am amongst the ones served, I get to lay back for a while which got me this opportunity of ruminating back at the brief period of time I was at this platform and in this momentous wink, how fascinating it has been to come across such a herd of immensely talented and genuine writers and poets.
Well folks, you are beautiful. You are what makes this world so beautiful. The plethora of emotions sketched in writings is speculation of the celestial beauty of human imagination, an entity no material prowess can transcend.
I wish I had come across this natural analgesic sooner but hey, better late than never.
Well who knows if I would get another chance to say it so I just wanted to say this now; thank You people, for sharing your beautiful emotions in your writings, and Thank You again for appreciating whatever half-baked pieces I sent your way.

Stay healthy and stay happy, beautiful people of Medium.

--

--

Rainman
Blue Insights

Resident in Internal Medicine. Lover of humans and trees and mountains and breeze, life and all its cacophonies. Stitching life into prose and poetries.