Image of two people’s outstretched hands almost grasping each other indicating the persons reaching out to each other.
Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

We Were Happy Together

A few lines on how things change

--

We were happy together, had each other despite all and everyone.

You forsook me when I needed you the most.

Now, the seconds tick slower than the hours.

Love yourself never felt more meaningless.

The gap you left in my empty heart has crystallised.

A spectacle you were to the heart, now you are only a trigger.

The reality that you’re better off without me and happier, too, is a painful truth to acknowledge.

I don’t move on easily.

I never had anyone. Only a person without friends knows the value of friendship and love. And when I love someone, I give them all of my self.

You broke me and left me to pick up my pieces. I will fix myself; I will heal.

I don’t hate you, no, quite the contrary; I still love you with all my heart. I love you with a thousand hearts. You were my best friend; we understood each other like we were each other.

The optimistic romantic that I am, I will never stop loving you. Though I know its futility.

A ship without sails I float around in a nebula. Directionless and windless.

What’s broken can be mended, or so I thought. I read the wrong signs and the signs wrong.

We are responsible for our own disappointment, I learnt the hard way.

So on I float, in my zombie-like existence looking forward to the past.

--

--

Srinath
Blue Insights

Tired of a normal life. Afraid of a different one. I’ve taken refuge in Poetry and dreams. Aspiring Aspirer.