What Happened to Me?

Jelly toast, merlot and a kid I still miss… me

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readSep 16, 2023

--

Image by Thomas Plummer Sr of the author

What the hell happened
to me? There I was, sort
of a cute kid, then in less
time it takes me to drink
a bottle of wine I became
a wrinkled old man, still
with stuff all over my face…
I do drool a lot these days.

Oh, would I love to talk to this
kid. You don’t’ have to be so
stupid I scream, you don’t have
to be a raging idiot for so many
painful years. But this little jerk
just smiles, but I do old dude,
I just do, because I am you.

He looked up, knowing eyes
of an innocent child, and offered
me some jelly toast. Was it that bad
old me? Would you really change
a minute of your life? Everything
that happens to me led to you…
is being you so bad?

I sat next to him munching my toast.
Poured myself some wine. Who knew
Merlot pairs so well with grape jelly
on white…

--

--

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights

A simple life dedicated to leaving the world a little better than I found it. Long career in the business of fitness, writer of books, speaker, personal coach.