What Should I Write About?

When There’s Nothing to Write?

Saman Jawaid
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readJan 23, 2021

--

Photo by Kawin Harasai on Unsplash

Should I write about the stars and the shimmering constellations?
Or about the people bathed in the moonlight?
Should I write about the eerie silence and the rustling of black leaves?
Or about the enchanted never-ending night?

Should I write about chocolate stained wrappers in the dustbin?
Or the butterflies fluttering in a stomach that is uncaged?
Should I write about red roses and romantic fantasies?
Or dreamy eyes, dilating pupils and emotions unfazed?

Should I write about life in small towns?
Or living in poor villages and dingy streets?
Should I write about dying hopes and broken promises?
Or dreams packed in a box of stale sweets?

Should I write about unflinching heroes?
Or tales of forgotten lands?
Should I write about rusted swords?
Or those bruised and battered hands?

Should I write about the movies I watched with half-open eyes?
Or the songs that are lie forgotten in a never-played playlist?
Should I write about the incomplete paintings and the dry palette?
Or my ever-changing, unrealistic, made-in-midnight bucket list?

Should I write about emotions and feelings and the songs that make sense?
Or the bright green money plant resting at the window sill?
Should I write about my stray thoughts and epiphanies?
Or all those practiced-during-lectures useless skills?

Should I write about those dog-eared paperbacks?
Or those hardcovers with dust jackets of faded colours?
Should I write about the yellowing pages with their enchanting aroma?
Or the handmade bookmarks with artificial feathers?

Should I write about the rainy days and clammy hands?
Or the ceaseless voice of small crickets?
Should I write about the muddy waters and the petrichor?
Or the bright green frogs hiding in thickets?

Should I write about procrastinating homework to watch productivity videos?
Or writing song lyrics on last benches?
Should I write about laughing at old memes?
Or daydreaming during Physics lectures?

Should I write about inconsistencies and unbulleted lists?
Or leaving things midway?
Should I write about torn pages and unfinished drafts?
Or trying to make things, people and thoughts stay?

--

--