Writing Was My Path to Financial Freedom

Learn from the mistakes I have made in my long writing career

Thomas Plummer
Published in
10 min readJul 22, 2022

--

By Gorodenkoff on iStock (image licensed by author)

My writing career can be measured in decades, not years. I was born to write, as you feel you might have been, and writing has been the only consistent thing in my long journey in life.

Relationships fail, and I wrote about it. Business was good, and I wrote a few books that taught others how they too could be successful. I survived as a presenter, going endless laps around the world, eventually teaching over a thousand workshops, yet I wouldn’t have lasted a day without my writing as the basis for all I did. I wrote nonfiction to pay for my life, and poetry in the middle of the night to keep my life sane.

Many of you dream of being a writer, but what does that mean to you? To me, being a professional writer meant I could make my living doing what I love, yet able to make enough money to give me freedom to live as I want, and how I want, because my writing was always the source of who I was and how I earned. In other words, writing was my path to freedom to live as I wanted dependent on no one but me.

There have been days where my writing has drifted away, and looking back those are the darker days of my life. One of my lessons of my writing life is writing daily makes me a better person. Writing

--

--

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights

A simple life dedicated to leaving the world a little better than I found it. Long career in the business of fitness, writer of books, speaker, personal coach.