You Call That A Kiss?

That was not at all like in the movies. Hollywood lied…

Renache
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readSep 29, 2020

--

Magical, Euphoric,
Amazing and Terrific.
all words used to describe
a first kiss.

So please tell me why
when I had mine, it was…
less than divine.

In my mind I tried too hard
to make it something spectacular
straight from scenes I memorized, just like
situations I only rehearsed alone.

I closed my eyes
just like the actresses in scenes I idolized
but there was no magic behind this curtain.

And the butterflies were drowned
in saliva, smacked by
tongues, trapped in teeth, and
swallowed with spit.

Talk about a tongue twister —
1–2–3–4 we declared a tongue war

Hollywood lied. Your first kiss is
full of “rookie mistakes” like
an aggressive game of tongue tennis played
while taking a ride on splash mountain.

But at least as time goes on,
you learn how to play the game
which makes the ride more fun.

--

--

Renache
Blue Insights

Just a girl here to share her stories, insights, and feelings. And it’s complicated.