You Gave Away Your Tomorrow

The life of your past is dead

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readMay 14, 2021

--

By Rune Myreng on iStock (image licensed by author)

No tomorrow for you
Only the yesterdays of your life
Your future lost,
ignored as you cling to your past
What was, will always be what is, for you

You are held hostage by anger
at what you cannot change
Never accepting what is today, is what is
Endless madness, over what was, rots your soul
Love lost by comparison of what is no longer
Families denied, one by one
Tired of rants of the
perceived injustices in your past
All because twenty years ago
is more important to you than now

And you will fail now because of then
The life of your past is dead
Yet this past still holds you by the throat
Choking the breath out of today
What was, is no longer
Yet to you,
what happened so long ago is as
real as the faces of your children

We all fail in the past
Yet we see the possibility of tomorrow
My past is my failures
My past is who I was
My past is not who I will be

A tattoo on the wrist of God
Let go of what was
Embrace what is
Dream of what can be
…tomorrow

--

--

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights

A simple life dedicated to leaving the world a little better than I found it. Long career in the business of fitness, writer of books, speaker, personal coach.