Gratitude Friday VI: The Value of Accountability

Blue Ridge Hemp
Blue Ridge Nation
Published in
3 min readJan 26, 2018

Dictated by: Will Oseroff

Transcribed by: Danielle Schoen

Edited by: Alexa Bonsey

Over a month ago, we committed to writing these Gratitude Friday articles every single week and today I wasn’t really feeling it. Honestly, I’ve been frustrated with how things have been going today and feeling kind of distracted and not able to get all the things I want done. It’s just one of those days. You guys have them. We all have them.

Still, I’m feeling grateful.

I truly am grateful for this opportunity. I’m grateful for every single person who has made a difference in my life and works hard each and every day to continue to make a difference. Some days I 100% take that for granted. Some days I am not the nicest person. Some days I can be rude. Some days I can be frustrating to be around, and I get that.

But one of the things I am really grateful for is the fact that I have vehicles and avenues in my life that help me to recognize when I’m acting poorly, recognize when I’m not treating people right, and recognize when I’m just being a jerk. The Vlog is a great way to hold myself accountable. When the camera is rolling I have the opportunity to look back at myself acting like a fool and call myself out for not being my best or most genuine self.

My friends, my family, and my coworkers are great at holding me accountable. They truly do call me out when I need it. While it’s not always easy to deal with people calling you out, it’s honestly been one of the biggest things to help me grow.

Self awareness not only comes from knowing yourself but also from having others you can trust to tell you how you are being perceived.

We can only see ourselves from one perception — our own — but that’s not always how we’re coming off or how the rest of the world looks at us. I’m grateful for the people in my life who hold me accountable and I’m happy and grateful for avenues like Instagram stories and the BRHC Blog because I have to be myself on them. If not, I’m going to get called out.

Even when I have bad days, even when there are troubles and things aren’t going as I hoped, I am grateful for parts of my life that I can use to hold me accountable to be a nicer person: to not be a jerk, to not just blow up in people’s faces, but to think through and think clearly about the things that we’re doing.

Today, we are putting out a call to action for you to find the people in your life who can call you out and hold you accountable to being your best self.

You can start with your family, your friends, or random people on the internet, like I did. Find someone you trust and be open to their feedback. It might not be easy to hear, but it might also help you grow.

At Blue Ridge Hemp Co. we produce CBD-infused natural care products for pain and wellness management. We are on a mission to empower through wellness, gratitude, and self care!

Check out our site to see the products we offer!

Follow us on Instagram to see our day to day and make sure you check out the Insta stories!

Watch our journey unfold each and every day on our Daily Vlog, Inside Blue Ridge Hemp on YouTube.

--

--

Blue Ridge Hemp
Blue Ridge Nation

CBD Natural Care. We are focused on empowering individuals through wellness, knowledge, education, and by creating access to products, services & opportunities!