Why Do Tens Of Thousands Of People Come To Burning Man 26 Years Running?

Anna Iurchenko
Burning Man
Published in
3 min readAug 17, 2013

--

Dust storms, extremely hot weather, dehydration. Welcome home!

Burning Man is all manner of crazy things about music, art, self-expression and self-accepting. This is the city in the Nevada desert that rises up from the dust every year, becomes home for 60,000 people and in one week disappears as though it never existed.

When I was thinking of going to Burning Man, I really wondered why tens of thousands people come there annually. I read a lot of blog posts about difficult living conditions on the playa — dust storms, extremely hot weather, dehydration… And I could not understand why all those people were attracted to this place 26 years in a row.

When I got there, I understood why.

At Burning Man, you will find exactly that experience, meet those people and experience those events that you want. Even if you don’t know what you want :). In fact, it is even better if you don’t have any particular reasons for being there or tasks that you intend to accomplish. Just come there with open mind and open heart and be ready for the experiments and a hell of a lot of adventures. Because that is what Burning Man is.

This place is a magical place, a place that is what you make of it. You will be brave and kind there, you will talk to strangers, dance whenever and wherever you want, and be everything you ever wanted to be. You will share your smile with others and live in the moment.

This is a surreal place where a unique community develops, where people are different, and where you become different.

Somebody said me that Burning Man is a life-changing experience. I am not sure; probably for some this is true. Burning Man didn’t change my life, and it didn’t change me. It showed me another world, another way of living and interacting with people, and created a new perception of myself and the people around me.

At the playa you realize that you are beautiful, that you are amazing, that you are supported and you are loved.

You will find love and magic in others and in yourself.

--

--

Anna Iurchenko
Burning Man

Designer, Health AI at Google. Board member IxDA San Francisco. I’m curious to understand people & I’m driven to build great products for them. Love sketching!