Mexico Has The Richest Culture I’ve Ever Seen

Tom Kuegler
Boarding Pass to the World
4 min readApr 21, 2023

--

Photo by Jeremy Lwanga on Unsplash

I awoke to the smell of mole sauce simmering in the kitchen.

My wife’s aunts were staying with us after our Mexican wedding, and they decided to cook mole chicken with rice for lunch.

For those who don’t know, a mole sauce typically has fruits, nuts, chocolate, chili peppers, and spices like cinnamon or cumin.

It is every bit as good as it sounds, and my brother-in-law said the meal they cooked was one of the top 5 things he’s ever eaten.

That’s saying something.

Obviously.

Dalia’s aunts were incredible. They seemed to have a smile plastered on their face from sun up to sun down. My friend complained of having an upset stomach, so they concocted a homemade ginger and lime drink with alka-seltzer for him.

He said it tasted like Sprite.

My sister was afraid her 9-month-old baby wouldn’t be able to eat the mole, so they made him a simple rice soup to eat. Then they picked him up and spoon fed it to him.

With a big smile.

I couldn’t believe all that was happening. Her aunts were in the kitchen all day slaving away making some of the best food I’ve ever eaten, and when I told them they didn’t have to cook anymore, they said:

--

--