Difference Between a Relationship and a Lover

Which offers the most intimacy and satisfaction?

Walter Adamson
Body Age Buster
3 min readFeb 10, 2016

--

Author’s note: this post was written in 2016 during a difficult period when my wife and separated — for 3 years. We are now back together (April, 2020)

She asked me, “what’s the difference between a good relationship and a lover?”.

The answer could be complicated! But for me it boils down to something like this:

“A good relationship shares the experience of sexual satisfaction, with a touch of comfort. A lover shares the experience of deep fulfilment, with a touch of excitement.”

(And by the way, I mean “sexual” in its full gambit of intimacy and exploration and safety.)

“But can’t a good relationship include the lover?”, she responded.

Absolutely, a perfect match, a perfect relationship, includes a perfect friend, husband, father, and lover — and soulmate. That’s our dream come true, right?

A relationship is broader and rarely as intense

Having a lover is focused on the thrill and joy of exploring your sexuality and deep intimacy in a mutually judgement-free way. It allows you to explore intimacy in a way which empowers your womanhood and confidence.

You feel totally sexually fulfilled, and happy to be with your lover. It has a small, exciting element of risk because it is so intimate — the thrill of risk.

A lover holds you, caresses you, touches you, kisses you, runs his fingers through your hair while talking about things like this.

Having a “relationship” satisfies broader requirements and expectations, some of which require compromises including sexual compromises.

This is not a failure of a “relationship” it is just a different focus.

All successful relationships have to include aspects of being a lover. But it is rarely as focused and intense and open and sexually liberating, and generally lacks the excitement of risk.

How would you explain the difference between a relationship and a lover?

Get my free, weekly newsletter here. Not sure yet? See an example

Follow me on Quora and Reddit for more health and fitness tips. Friend me on Goodreads.

I’m Walter. I write articles on fitness, health, and motivation for men and women over 50. However, curiosity is my main distinction. I’ve been lucky enough to have experienced a bolt of lightning hitting me in Korea, crash landing in a 747 (LAX), being sucked into a thundercloud at 4,000m in a sailplane (Australia), jumping freefall from 3,000m on my 1st ever parachute jump (Florida), and two different lethal cancers. In 2000 I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes which sparked my interested in exercise, nutrition, motivation and cognitive fitness. University qualified in mathematical statistics, and computing science (Masters); have a professional diploma in sports nutrition; certified social media strategist. Feel free to message/email me with any comments, questions, or collaboration ideas. Blog: walteradamson.com

--

--

Walter Adamson
Body Age Buster

Optimistically curious, 70+ trail runner; 2X cancer; diabetic; Click “FOLLOW” for living longer better tips | My Newsletter 👉 newsletter.walteradamson.com