How To Easily Calculate Calories Burned Walking, Running, Rowing or Exercising in Bed. No Gadget Required

For when you need to know how many calories HIIT Yoga burns

Walter Adamson
Body Age Buster

--

HIIT Yoga — How Many Calories? | Image Credit: Screenshot. The Author

You know those times when we’re not wearing a fitness band or an Apple Watch and wonder how many calories we’re burning? Here’s a simple and accurate method that you can easily do in your head.

I often run or walk without any gadgets, and I rarely wear fitness bands at the gym, and never take my phone. From time-to-time, I wonder how much energy I’ve used in a workout.

Now, I use this method, which I worked out after plotting a few charts and averaging a few numbers, and comparing to the estimates from the times when I do wear a fitness band.

I will explain the one key variable that you need to know, the calculation you apply to that key variable, and why the answer makes sense metabolically.

The one number that you need to know

The one thing that you need to know is how much effort you are applying during exercise.

We calculate this with a subjective “perceived exertion test”. Your own perceived exertion has a good correlation with the level of intensity of your workout and your heartbeat.

--

--

Walter Adamson
Body Age Buster

Optimistically curious, 70+ trail runner; 2X cancer; diabetic; Click “FOLLOW” for living longer better tips | My Newsletter 👉 newsletter.walteradamson.com