My Body Language

Sean Maurer
Body Language Skills
3 min readMar 1, 2018

The reason why I have taken such interest in body language is because it has been one of my weaknesses since I was a child. I have always had a relative advantage with words and phrasing as my mother was an English teacher, thus I simply had to do well in English. However, words mean little when the body doesn’t communicate the same message as the mouth.

So, what are the concepts I have learned and put into practice thus far?

There are two major categories of body language: formal and informal and applying them or mixing them incorrectly can affect other’s views of you.

Formal environment:

  1. Eye contact: Eye contact when listening is a sign of attentiveness and should be made often except if you are making some emote such as a nod of the head in agreement. While talking it keeps people focused on what you are saying and should be made constantly. If you are speaking to a group alternate between people’s eyes so no one feels targeted.
  2. Facial expressions: In a formal environment a strait, relatively emotionless expression is fit for most circumstances. This is because any other expression may prove distracting from the focus of the formal setting. This does not, however, limit you from emoting with your face at all. If for an example, you boss cracked a good spirited joke about good performance, n exception is expected of you.
  3. Gestures: Gestures in communication are like salt in food, they are an amplifier. When listening be sure to occasionally nod in accordance with what the speaker is saying so that they feel that their message is being received by an active audience. While speaking in a discursive conversation where no one is at the helm make sure to keep your gestures to a minimum; if you over emphasize what you have to say others may feel that you put your opinion over theirs. However, if you are in a conversation where you are in charge or you are giving a speech having extra expressive body language is encouraged.
  4. Posture: Your posture reflects how serious you are. In a formal environment you should have your shoulders back and your spine strait so you communicate seriousness and confidence.

Informal Environment:

  1. Eye Contact: Is still a sign of attentiveness but it is encouraged that you spend less time looking at the person’s eyes and more at the surroundings in an informal conversation.
  2. Facial Expressions: Try your best to emote in a way that fits the situation but do not remain inexpressive like in the formal environment as that is a sign of you being in a foul mood.
  3. Gestures: Ask yourself if you are more socially dominate or submissive in situations. if you are more dominate, gestures are encouraged more in scope and number. If you are submissive the opposite is true, let your gestures compliment your social stature.
  4. Posture: For the most part slouch a little. If you have something important to say straiten out a little to get others attention.

The above tips are things I have personally put into practice. I tried using the tips I learned about formal environments in communicating with my professors. When I spoke to my professors I noticed that they seemed to pay more attention to my questions value my responses more. This further expands my view that body language is important.

For informal situations i used the tips I learned to communicate with my friends. I think applying what I learned led to less social hiccups (we are all a tad awkward). This also makes me view body language as an important soft skill.

Next time I plan on working on using body language as a descriptive tool.

--

--