A tribute to Bob McGrath

Do You Still Know the People in Your Neighborhood?

Oh, I wish every street is Sesame Street

I, Napoleon B.
body-mind-soul
Published in
5 min readDec 7, 2022

--

Do You Still Know the People in Your Neighborhood?
Wikimedia

How many people you know can say they are older than Sesame Street? I am, by a few months. I was born on July 1969, the show premiered on November 10, 1969.

Growing up, the show quickly became my teacher and friend. While my memories of it are almost forgotten, after a quick look back I realize I could still remember many of its characters: Kermit, Big Bird, and the ‘humans.’

With the news that Bob died, I went down memory lane and found myself humming his signature tune: People in your neighborhood.

Bob McGrath

I don’t know when I stopped watching Sesame Street, I guess there are things in your life that you leave behind. As life happens, you suddenly find yourself moving away from things that used to bring you so much joy. As a kid, the joy came easy, and in the mornings it was seeing Cookie Monster eat cookies or listening to Count von Count — count.

The sad truth about being a kid is one day you’ll stop being a kid. You become all grown up and face all the troubles of being an adult.

Today, on the news of his death, Bob McGrath was 90 years old. He was one of the…

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
body-mind-soul

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS