Weight, is it a choice?

I Feel Fat and Uncomfortable and Why like Taylor Swift I Can’t Say Fat Anymore

A Harris Poll survey in 2021 found that 61% of US adults’ weight fluctuated during the pandemic.

I, Napoleon B.
body-mind-soul
Published in
5 min readJun 27, 2021

--

I Feel Fat and Uncomfortable and Why like Taylor Swift I Can’t Say Fat Anymore
Photo by Gustavo Fring: https://www.pexels.com/photo/plus-size-woman-burning-fat-6285246/

Updated in November 2022.
When I wrote this story in June 2021, it was how I felt about myself. And I have been through this road before. I never had any issue if I look fat to people, but as a 53 year old man mostly sedentary (full time work from home writer) especially after Mom died, the extra weight does make a difference both physically and mentally.
It isnt body dysmorphia or fat phobia, but taking stock of my health in my 50s.
I’m again trying to lose at least 15 pounds this November 2022. And while this is my story, I don’t want anyone who may be trigerred by the word ‘fat’ or ‘weight’ to see my story as an endorsement of society’s obsession with weight loss.
And again as a disclaimer, if you wish to do any exercise or diet, it is best to consult your doctor. My story is not a medical advice. Thank you.

I am fat, and I have no excuse.

Before Mom passed away, I took it upon myself to have my weight under control. But after Mom died, I started to gain weight, and I don’t make excuses. I take full responsibility…

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
body-mind-soul

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS