Be Quick but Don’t Hurry

How to harness your mind-muscle connection

Lauren Hill
Body Wisdom

--

woman running a race
Image by Pexels from Pixabay

How would you describe someone who’s moving quickly? And how would you describe someone who’s hurrying? Is it the same thing?

John Wooden is credited with saying “Be quick but don’t hurry.” What does it mean exactly?

An elite runner running a marathon is moving quickly. But is she hurrying?

Someone who hurries has it written all over their movement. Hurrying typically causes you to use too much effort for the job at hand. Not exactly what an elite athlete wants. She wants to be as efficient as possible.

I just got back from the YMCA where I went for my twice-weekly swim. As I was in the process of blow drying my hair, a middle-aged woman came in with her backpack. I caught sight of her in the mirror as she passed behind me and then turned into the locker bay to my right. It only took a split second for me to tell you she was late for her class. Or had a very limited time to get whatever her planned workout was in.

She was hurrying. And it was written all over her movement.

I watched her out of the corner of my eye. She was trying to move quickly. But because she was also in a hurry, all kinds of unnecessary physical effort was going into getting the stuff out of her bag, getting…

--

--

Lauren Hill
Body Wisdom

I’m a posture and movement coach trained in the Alexander Technique. You can also find me at LessEffortMoreEase.com