cj renoe
boelscardposts
Published in
5 min readMay 6, 2021

--

A full 360 brother , boelccube

Links and images to be added later , had to Faulkner this shit while it was still fresh in my mind. (some have been added but this line too good to not leave in)

Hey crew, knowing myself quite well, I know the best way to ensure I never finish a project is to discuss it , so here we have it the coffin nail for this cube.

Hey gang as we know I have built cubes before but I’ll be the first to admit they are generally “popular good stuff" cubes which haven’t really let my creative juices flag shine. So I decided it was finally time to showcase my individuality when it comes to this card game and finely curate and hand craft a cube which involves all my “greatest hits" of magic over the year.

The design documente

I shall use “archtypes"

  • Archtypes help new drafters know what to draft as they will all have read this design document prior (and signed a release saying they have done as such, during the pandemic I will allow faxed releases as long as you include a form of identification) and will allow me to showcase the jenny see kwah of my magics
  • With this in mind I will have archtypes for each mono color and probably some of the better guilds as well
  • These will generally be some of my favorite ways I played over my magic career be it either when I first started
  1. Some pet decks over the years
    Or some of my tournament winners
    To help support these archtypes I will have some 'signpost cards' to help steer folks in that direction
    Because of the general singleton format of cube I figured these archtypes would be better expressed by putting 4 copies of each signpost as it were in the cube

If a spell had a spellshaper equivalent , run that instead

  1. Spellshapers are awesome so I am studiously crafting an environment where they can shine
  2. Symmetry be damned , so many gleaming the cubers are slavishly adherents to symmetry that it makes me take a big puke. As they always say restriction breeds creativity I am restricting myself to not sticking to symmetry.

I think that’s it but in this series I may add more rules , pray I don’t alter it further

So over the coming articles I’ll start talking about these archtypes as well as “glue cards" to put it all together. So lets start with

Black, why can i only do a grid of 3 sheesh

Archtype:HAUNTING MISERY
signpost card:HAUNTING MISERY
haunting misery was the first black card I built a deck around and I wanted to bring that unbridled joy to all you cubers.

So while some attrition will allow us a paltry misery, we are going to lean hard on things that will get our dudes to the yard

A great example of this is circling vultures , hell, it lets you discard it right from your dang hand right into the yard. It practically does all the work for you.

Some colorless sac outlets will also help fuel this beastly archtype such as altar of dementia to put yourself on a self-mill plan of you can put it together.

An easy auto include was phyrexian dreadnought, not only do you have to sac dudes to cast it but if you manage to sac it to altar of dementia that’s another 12 massive cards to throw in the yard for a lethal misery

Also black
Mercenaries

Signpost card:not sure
Torment was the most well received set in magics history so my cube will match it with a higher ratio of black cards. With that on mind it means I have room for an archtype that I’ve always enjoyed and that is MERCS.

To further supplement this archtype we’ll throw in a smattering of changelings , of course other foolish drafters may also be trying to get in on changeling action which you can take care of with silver bullet REBEL INFORMER.

some folks make tribal cards out of normal ones to “make the tribe viable" so currently in the not sure on deck binder

Of note these are PROSPECTIVE they haven’t made the cut yet

Well that sounds like a good stopping point. Next time we’ll hit up more of the more of the monocolor archtypes.

Until then hope to see you on the cube pitch.

--

--