Do you believe in Magic?

Emmanuelle Usifo
bohemedigitale
Published in
6 min readFeb 16, 2018

Nay…me neither.

My mum and my late grandma both have a soft spot for astrology, cosmology and the likes. On my second year of high school in France, where i was struggling my way through the scientific curriculum, my math grades started to drop quite dramatically, i was falling behind the rest of the class and it got to a point where one day i literally had a zero out of twenty at a surprise test (yep, i’m not sugarcoating, it was THAT bad). Calling for extreme measures, my mum decided to take me to “THE ONE from Quimperlé”.

The mid-long haired -so called- magnetizer in a white sari kind of shirt invited us into his practice/garage, sat me down, and asked me to repeat “I will improve my math grades, I will improve my math grades, I will…” * 50 times whilst making circular hand motions over my head and humming.

Work harder? Get a math tutor? Nah… that’s for normal people. If the healer couldn’t get my grades up, then why bother?!

Surprisingly, i also failed at being magnetised, since my grades did not rise like the phoenix. So, as the bloody stubborn Aries i am, i rebelled and rejected in block my mums tarot reading tentatives, the oracles from the family psychic (“The ONE from Rosporden”) and everything in the lexical field of esotericism and spirituality.

Photo : Veronica Albuerme

But…unrealistic experimentations and family customs aside, there is still something in me that is intrigued about some spiritual practices. As a student i got really into chakras and theories around flows of energy, i also do believe that the movements of the heart, the moon and the sun have an influence on us. It’s a fine line really…In China for example, beliefs are strong and everywhere, often in ways that seem very obscure from a western eye.

Well known examples of this include ‘the number 4’, considered a very unlucky number, so in most high-rise buildings in Shanghai, 4th floors simply don’t exist, you just go from 3rd to 5th floor, no questions asked. A ‘tip’ if you decide to move to China without a job : when it comes to choosing a mobile number, just consider avoiding it finishing with 44 or 444…if you expect a Chinese recruiter to ever call you.

The Chinese zodiac is also no laughing matter. Each year’s corresponding animal carries very specific meanings and characteristics and have a real impact on people’s life choices. Chinese mums, for instance, have made ‘Planning for a baby’ a swiss-watch-like precision science.

As far as we can look back, the year of the dragon has consistently seen a spike in the national fertility rate. Coincidence? Nope. Chinese people regard themselves as descendants of the dragon : “Baby dragons speed across the sky with divine power, don’t they mum?” Not a mum, son, a Khalessi…

My daughter was born the year of the sheep, which is apparently one of the lame signs, but whatever, i don’t care, she’s the best. My WeChat group “Sheep mums” was so much smaller than the “Horse mums” group though, and they always seemed to have so much more fun and brunches and playdates together…

Coincidence? Yeah probably…

Photo : Veronica Albuerme

Again, China is ‘at times’ ‘a bit’ extreme with beliefs. So let’s go back to the middle shall we? In the world of ‘people who do not make drastic life changing decisions based on planet alignment but just like to think there is a little bit of magic in life sometimes and who are willing to welcome it’. Here we are, nice to see you here, isn’t life a bit more interesting that way?

This topic occurred to me since i recently had 2 transcendental experiences. (yes i did…bear with me.)

The first one has to do with the Berlin Sperrmüll tradition. It’s very common in Berlin to find cardboard boxes outside apartment building entrances with a sign ‘Zu Verschenken’ (=For free). People just leave up for grabs things they don’t need anymore. It’s mostly a lot of crappy stuff, but sometimes you can find little treasures. (The practice is actually forbidden all over Germany but that wouldn’t scare off Berlin people from doing it, they’re just too cool). Recently, one of my daughter’s little kindergarten friends was leaving the kita and as he did, removed from the wall the nicely framed collage with pictures of the family all kids have to take home. Layla wanted to take hers too and got very sad(=mad). I explained her she was not leaving so didn’t need it, promised to make her a nice frame for home too, and made a mental note to buy a frame on our next IKEA run. On our way back home — she’s still crying(=screaming) — people in the street are giving me THE LOOK (the bad mum one). At the corner of Winstrasse, i suddenly get intrigued by two stylish young women looking into one of those boxes in the street, and pulling a lovely vintage lamp out of it. As i usually do, i have a look as well. Old books, shoes, cups, nothing crazy, until i stumble on “a set of 2 picture frames in perfect shape!” AND (cherry on the cake) a “Frozen” coloring book! with Elsa and Olaf and the all gang. Heu Hellooooo…if that’s not a sign from the universe, then i’ll be damned!

And no later than last Monday, i hosted a Creative Monday session with a friend on the topic of “Dream Map”…very simple concept, you need something in life? Just let the universe know, and it will come to you.

We were all busy cutting images and motivational quotes from magazines to add to our boards, and as i was about to glue the image of my dream wooden cabin in Brittany (Could be Houat, Belle-Île ou Noirmoutier…universe…up to you, i’m not picky), I realised that on the other side of the image, was a pic of a book on a beach towel, and the book was “NO ONE BELONGS HERE MORE THAN YOU” from Miranda July — who so happens to be one of my muses — Do you see that? No one belongs here more than me…the dream home! I know, you’re speechless right now, just take a moment if you need and come back. This is cosmic on so many levels!

So see, when you’re looking for signs, chances are you will find them! I’m excited about my Dream Map and i look forward to all my dreams to happen! (I just have a quick question : so yesterday i was supposed to ‘submit’ my dreams to the new moon, but i sort of forgot and felt asleep in front of Germany’s Next Top Model…But that will still work right? I mean what are you universe? The post office? I was just one day late, and you will not take my requests? How stupid would that be…Ah you’ll still take it! “Exceptionally?”, “ just because it’s me!” “Because I’m special”…oh thank you universe! you’re so nice ❤ it’s true, i’m special, i’m almost a millennial, so…(yes 1981 counts, si si)…Yes, next time i’ll be on time, i promise…Pinky swear! LUV you! Happy Galentines day (of course you’re a Gal..#sisterhood)

And on this schizophrenic note i hope to see you soon and HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR OF THE EARTH DOG! (Take care of your health!)

Photo Veronica albuerme

--

--