How To Become The Main Character In Your Life Story

Sharing insights on my journey to freedom, self-discovery, and not giving a damn.

Ari Love
Awakening Souls
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2023

--

Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

“Life’s too short to live someone else’s.” — Nathan W Morris

For most of my life, I cared. I cared a lot about what people thought of me and how they viewed me. I spent an insane amount of energy picking out the perfect outfit or being the first one to show up for a birthday celebration I did not want to attend. Around my family, I was the sweet, innocent girl; around my friends, I was the successful, well-traveled companion. At work, I was a hardworking, friendly model employee. At my local pubs, I was the overly friendly, dancing, sexy barfly.

One day, I realized I was doing too much. I was tired of being what everyone else wanted me to be. I was tired of playing so many different roles; I was exhausted, overworked, and underpaid. So I decided I had enough; the acting gig was over. Once I left the acting gig, I suddenly had time to figure out who I truly was. I had time to ponder what role I wanted to play, and I finally understood that I was the main character, narrator, and director of my life story; not some extra in someone else’s.

--

--

Ari Love
Awakening Souls

Sassy, solo-traveling, free-spirited chick, writing about love, healing, awakening, and spiritual stuff. I play by my own rules, wanna play?