“Occupation, our only occupation.”

What’s your occupation?

kaustubh patil
3 min readMay 16, 2014

My mind was preoccupied with some thoughts while I was rushing for work in the morning. I reached the railway station and was waiting for the train to arrive. I was standing by the edge of the platform and was listening to my favourite number with the earphones plugged in.

The empty station was soon occupied with hundreds of people as the train was close to arrive. Everyone was eagerly waiting for the train. If the train was on time everyone would reach their destination on time but if the train was late, no one gave you a damn for that excuse of being late.

I looked at the indicator, the time was 9.58 and I could see the train entering the station. The train, not even halted that the people started jumping inside in a hurry to occupy the seat, not only to occupy the seat but to occupy the one at the window. No one cared if their shirt got torn or the lately polished shoes got dirty again while entering the crowded train. The first thing in the to- do list was to occupy a window. The train halted for few seconds and speeded for the next station.

I was standing at the door still listening to some good songs that gave me energy and helped me to deal with the morning blues. The next station arrived. I was worried as I saw a herd of people jumping into the train. I would probably lose my place at the door which I had some how occupied.

The people jumped in, I was pushed in and some other fellow occupied my place. I decided to stand in the corner.

Later at the next station I noticed that the fellow who had occupied my place at the door was now struggling to retain it. He knew that he would get pushed in and lose the place but somehow he was able to secure it.

Now I was imagining this world, this life like a train. The instances that took place till now were so similar to the life that we lead.

I saw a student standing and reading a book. May be he was revising for his exam. May be he was preparing to occupy the best rank in his college. As my station was close, I removed the earphones and kept them in my bag.

I overheard a bunch of train mates discussing on their salary and the designation. Everyone was bulling about their growth, anticipating for more.

My station arrived, I got down. Walking on my way to the office I realized how no one is different from other. Everyone wants to occupy the best possible place. Someone want to occupy that one seat at the window, someone wants to occupy the best place in the class, someone wants to get admission in the best college in the world, someone wants to occupy the best position in the office, someone wants to secure the best salary package while someone one wants to occupy a safe place in someone’s heart.

In the long run if we ask ourselves “What is our occupation?” answers like doctor, engineer, banker or student won’t justify the question. The best answer is “Occupation, our only Occupation.”

--

--