“We aren’t guaranteed tomorrow.”

Jake
half truths
Published in
1 min readNov 1, 2016

--

A popular proverb amongst millennials and others. You can hardly peruse the web without finding some version of the sentiment expressed in a script font over a stock photo; usually an exotic beach scene or candid shot of friends laughing the night away.

I find the intent behind the saying is innocent enough, but the underlying philosophy is problematic for believers. Jesus was clear; tomorrow will come. In fact, tomorrow will not only come but it will never end.

There are only two options for the eternity to come. A heaven and a hell are approaching on the horizon. What you and I do today carries the consequence of either eternal life or death.

For believers this should bring joy. Each morning a beautiful gift that will be received over and over again for all time.

- Based on John 10:28–29

If you loved this, get more short, lighthearted and genuine reflections directly in your inbox by subscribing here.

--

--

Jake
half truths

I want to write the words I wish were written for me. For those dark moments I kept to myself and insisted on standing alone — even though I never really was.