Bonanza Staff Picks: My favorite fashion trends

Grace B.
BonanzaMarket
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2019

--

As someone who works for an ecommerce marketplace, it’s only fitting that I have a self-diagnosed online shopping addiction. I live for the anticipation of waiting to get my newest statement piece or wardrobe staple. Nothing compares to the joy I feel when I see a package at my doorstep.

I love all things beauty and fashion. Maybe it’s because I’m a designer by trade and spend my days creating things that are both functional and visually pleasing. Or maybe it’s the Aquarius in me. Whatever the reason, it’s a topic I enjoy discussing.

While I wish I had more time to dedicate to studying high fashion trends on a large scale, I love talking about everyday fashion because of its inherent relatability. The beauty of everyday fashion (in my opinion) is that there are no rules — we should all just wear what makes us feel good. Pull out that white sweater after Labor Day! Mix navy blue and black together! Wear socks with sandals (I challenge you to find a more comfortable pairing).

My outlook on fashion is that everyone deserves to be feel like a rockstar in whatever they’re wearing. So, what are some of my favorite fashion choices that are trending right now? Read on to find out.

1. Animal Print Everything

Photo credit: Deca Store | MindyShop | OGS80

It’s no surprise that floral patterns are flying off the shelves as we embrace our hay fever and enjoy the blooms of spring. But you might be surprised to find out that people are going wild for animal print (see what I did there?) as we head into the warmer months. I’ve been rocking leopard print for quite some time, and can’t wait to expand my collection to be inclusive of other animal prints. I’m most excited to try out snakeskin, crocodile, and cowhide (faux of course!).

2. Statement Sunglasses

Photo credit, starting top left and moving clockwise: Cheerful Mood | flamys_shine | flamys_shine | Hachigo Shop

Sunglasses are a necessity for any human who plans on being outside when the sun is shining. Hats are my fashion kryptonite — for whatever reason, my head is shaped so that no hat style is flattering. But sunglasses are my fashion redemption. I love all sorts of styles and colors of sunnies. From classic aviators to heart-shaped glasses, I love accessorizing a summer look with some statement sunglasses. My go-to shape is cat-eye, but you really can’t go wrong with any statement sunnies.

3. Lavender is the New Black

Photo credit: Deca Store | OGS80 | Shop365Chic

Lavender is having a major moment — I’ve unofficially declared it my new “power color.” I’m normally into warmer shades (hello, blush pink) so there’s something refreshing about this cooler shade of purple. It’s flattering on so many different skin tones, and compliments the neon trend happening right now. I recently got a pleated tank and a ruffle hem jumpsuit in this color, and can’t wait for the weather to cooperate so I can debut these festive pieces.

4. Function > Form

Photo credit, starting top leftand moving clockwise: mythoughtexactly | EleonoraRR | PeaksofHappiness | Treasure Chest

You’ve probably noticed the “dad shoes” trend that has folks everywhere sporting chunky stegosaurus sneakers. To each their own — I just can’t get behind this trend. However, I’m all about this movement towards comfortable and practical footwear. Athletic shoes, platform sneakers, and those classic Birkenstocks are all great options to keep your feet happy without bumming out the rest of your outfit.

5. Monochromatic outfits

Photo credit: Fashion As a Lifestyle | Bonanza sellers | Finding Paola

This is my absolute favorite look for when I want to feel like a badass boss. Sticking to one color and switching up the shades produces a look of effortless sophistication. A big part of my fashion philosophy is to never look like you’re trying too hard, so the monochromatic outfit is a slam dunk.

What are your favorite spring and summer fashion trends? Let me know in the comments below!

--

--

Grace B.
BonanzaMarket

Visual Designer for Bonanza by day; Seattle sports fan by night. Bachelor super fan on Monday nights.