How I Got an Internship Position at a Zambian Tech Hub (BongoHive)

Gerald Maboshe
BongoHive
Published in
3 min readAug 7, 2019
Me at BongoHive

It all started on a Saturday morning, July 6, 2018 in Kitwe. It was a Developer Circles (DevC) meetup at The Copperbelt University (CBU) dubbed DevX. Being the lead of a student developer community at the institution[CBU], I was excited to host DevX and so was my team. The meetup introduced cool tech concepts that changed my view of programming 🤔. After the meetup, I got to interact with speakers among them, Mbuyu, DevC Lusaka Lead. Mbuyu was then an employee at BongoHive and told me about amazing things they built. I got inspired and hoped would work at a hub like that one.

After DevX at CBU

When school closed, I had a chance to attend my second DevC meetup. This time, it was in Lusaka and guess what? It was at BongoHive. The meetup introduced React and I came out of the meetup confused. This could have been because I only knew basics of HTML, CSS and Vanilla JavaScript and thought those were enough for web development. Nonetheless, the leads were kind enough to share resources about React.

Big-Zude and I sharing insights at the meetup

On April 5, 2019, my institution was closed indefinitely by the relevant authority on account of student unrest. I went home feeling disturbed because I really needed to complete my studies. The following month, I saw a BongoHive ad on one of my social media accounts. And yes! 😊, they were hiring software developer interns and I did not hesitate to tap the ‘apply’ link. Surprising the link redirected to a GitHub repository with a React coding challenge 😭. Lucky enough, the challenge had learning materials and challenges at the end. I worked on the challenge tirelessly and managed to submit before the deadline.

After a couple of days of waiting for feedback, I received an email indicating that I had been shortlisted to attend a hackathon from which they would pick the successful candidates. Although the hackathon was challenging, I found it fun and a good experience working in a team.

The big day came, I received an email that I made it to the Internship programme 😃 together with 5 others out of about 57 applicants. I was excited and this to me was a dream come true. So far from the programme, I have learnt UI/UX design, some project management tools, getting requirement specifications right among other things. I look forward to learning more.

Thank you for reading 🙏.

Feel free to follow me on GitHub, LinkedIn and Twitter.

--

--