Redefining Ownership: A Mother’s Relationship with Her Boobs

In this interview, we follow Lauren’s journey as she shares her personal experience with the evolution of her relationship with her breasts.

Julia
BoobTalk Magazine
6 min readApr 11, 2023

--

From feeling possessiveness towards them to shifting her perspective during breastfeeding, Lauren talks about the challenges and the empowerment that came with reclaiming ownership of her body. Her story is a reminder of the beauty and complexity of the female body, and the importance of celebrating its functionality.

Julia: Thank you for sharing your story about the evolution of your breasts. How did you feel when your husband expressed his possessiveness towards your breasts?

Lauren: It was a bit surprising, to be honest. I had always assumed that in a committed relationship, my partner and I would have equal access to each other’s bodies. However, when he expressed his possessiveness, I realized that ownership of my body, including my breasts, had shifted.

Julia: How did you feel when you became pregnant and knew that your breasts would be used for breastfeeding?

Lauren: It was a bit of a mixed bag of emotions. On one hand, I knew that breastfeeding was important for our child’s health, and I was committed to doing it. On the other hand, I was worried about the impact it would have on my breasts and my relationship with my husband.

Julia: How did you navigate the dilemma of functionality versus sensuality when it came to your breasts?

Lauren: It was a challenge. For me, my breasts had always been a source of pleasure and sensuality, so it was difficult to separate that from their new function as a source of nourishment for our daughter. However, over time, I came to appreciate the role they were playing in our child’s life, and I was able to let go of some of that possessiveness and allow them to be solely for our daughter’s use.

Julia: What was the experience of breastfeeding like for you?

Lauren: It was a learning curve. There was a lot of pain and discomfort at first, but eventually, we got the hang of it. It was a bonding experience with our daughter, and it felt good to be able to provide for her in that way.

Julia: How did you feel once you stopped breastfeeding?

Lauren: Looking back, it’s a sensation I can no longer recall. While I was proud of my accomplishment in soothing my daughter, that feeling now seems unfamiliar, only nine months after I stopped breastfeeding her. It took a while for me to switch back to see my breasts as an erotic part of my body, and my husband’s access was revoked for at least a year if not a few more months. However, in the end, I realized that they had always been mine all along and that they had been a vessel for my happiness.

Julia: Thank you for sharing your personal story with us. Your relationship with your breasts has evolved. How do you feel about them now, after going through the experience of breastfeeding?

Lauren: It’s been a journey, that’s for sure. When I was pregnant, I felt a sense of detachment from my body as it went through so many changes. And then, during breastfeeding, my breasts became solely functional, which was a significant shift from their previous role in my life. It took some time after I stopped breastfeeding for me to start seeing them as an erotic part of my body again. But now, I feel like I’ve come full circle, and I’ve reclaimed ownership of them. They are mine to enjoy as I see fit, and that feels empowering.

Julia: Do you think your experience with breastfeeding has changed your perspective on the female body and its many functions?

Lauren: Absolutely. I think there’s a lot of pressure on women to conform to certain standards of beauty, and that includes having breasts that are perky and symmetrical. But when you go through something like breastfeeding, you realize that your body is capable of so much more than just looking good. It can nourish and sustain a tiny human being, and that’s pretty amazing. I think we need to shift the conversation around the female body and start celebrating its functionality, rather than just its appearance.

Julia: That’s an excellent point. Do you have any advice for other women who are going through a similar experience?

Lauren: I would say that it’s essential to listen to your body and your intuition. Breastfeeding can be a challenging journey, both physically and emotionally, and it’s okay to set boundaries and communicate your needs. It’s also important to remember that your body is doing something incredible, even if it doesn’t always feel that way. Take the time to appreciate yourself and your body for all that it’s capable of. And above all, be kind to yourself. Motherhood is hard enough without adding unnecessary pressure and judgment.

Julia: Thank you again for sharing your story with us. It’s a powerful reminder of the complexity and beauty of the female body.

Lauren: Thank you for having me. I hope that my story can help other women feel seen and heard and that we can start having more open and honest conversations about the female experience.

The Bottom Line

Lauren’s journey towards reclaiming ownership of her body and celebrating the functionality of the female body is a powerful reminder of the complexities and beauty of womanhood. Her experience with breastfeeding highlights the importance of listening to one’s body, setting boundaries, and communicating needs.

It also encourages a shift in the conversation around the female body, celebrating its functionality rather than solely its appearance.

Lauren’s story serves as an inspiration for other women going through similar experiences, and a call to society to embrace and celebrate the wonders of the female body.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article! If you enjoyed it and are interested in reading more stories like this, consider becoming a Medium member. For just $5 a month, you’ll have unlimited access to all of the stories on Medium. If you use my referral link to sign up, I’ll receive a small payment as a thank you for your support.

--

--