What is a Book Review?

What is it for, who is it for, and what questions should it answer?

Emmanuel Quartey
2 min readDec 21, 2013

The first book I finished inside the Readmill eBook reader app was Cory Doctorow’s Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom. While there was a lot to enjoy about the novel, I came away a little unsatisfied, and I intended to say as much in my review.

But when I tapped over to the relevant screen and raised a finger to the textbox, I realized that I had no idea what to say.

Reviews are one of those seemingly straightforward things that become less obvious the more you think about them. Should you:

  1. Write a note to your future self, reminding you of what you thought and felt?
  2. Write as if in response to a friend asking “What did you think?”
  3. Write as if you’re giving feedback directly to the author?

I suspect that the answer to this question is important. I suspect that the writing headspace in which you put yourself comes with assumptions and biases that influence what you choose you say, how you say it, and what you leave out.

Readmill’s review page.

As I stared at the blank box, I found myself wishing that I had a better framework for offering thoughts on text. 400 characters is too short for an in-depth critique, but simply scribbling “I didn’t like this” isn’t enough. When someone offers you the gift of their creative output, the least you can do is offer something useful in return.

So I’m trying to outline that framework. This is what I have so far:

Questions to consider when writing book reviews

  1. What did you enjoy most? What will you return to?
  2. What did you struggle with? Describe this, even if the words don’t come easily. Especially if the words don’t come easily.
  3. How could this be better? It’s helpful if you can propose a better way.
  4. Who would most enjoy reading this book?
  5. Who would least enjoy reading this book?

It’s imperfect — it’s impossible to answer all these questions within Readmill’s 400 character limit. But the next time I encounter that intimidating box, I’ll know how to proceed: a one sentence answer per question, and then whittle the paragraph even further, down to the character limit.

Again, it’s imperfect. But it’s a start.

I’m curious: what questions do you try to answer when reviewing a book?

--

--

Emmanuel Quartey

Curious about media, marginalia, and how thoughts become things (and vice versa). Head of Growth at Paystack.