Book Spine Poetry

Tim Monreal
Book Spine Poetry
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2015

“Have you heard of book spine poetry?”

“You have?”

“When?”

“Like twenty years ago, Tim.”

This won’t be the first or last time I arrive late to the party. Heck, most of the time I miss the party completely. No matter. Today I had a blast playing with book spine poetry. Thanks Loyola Marymount University Library for raising my awareness to this beautiful and absolutely merry literary activity.

My own work:

Bright Maps,

In Plain View,

Forever Now.

A Country for All,

Justice for All,

Only Words.

A Long Way Gone,

The Boy Next Door,

Run for the Border.

Unbroken,

Unbowed,

The Human Condition.

For those of you wishing to use #bookspinepoetry in the classroom (or for yourself) I found a few resources:

PBS Adventures in Learning Poetry 4 Kids #bookspinepoetry Pinterest Board

--

--

Tim Monreal
Book Spine Poetry

CA ←→ SC | Former Middle School Teach and current Profe of Teacher Education | Trying to find time to blog again!