My First Ultrasound

Aubrey Hampton
bookofaubrey
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2020

I was 9 weeks and 3 days pregnant when I went in for my first ultrasound. It was the most incredible experience. However, the weeks leading up to the ultrasound weren’t as awesome.

I found out I was pregnant at around 6 weeks. After I got back from the health department, I immediately called and made an appointment. I had to wait 3 weeks to see my baby, which is totally normal. However, what they don’t tell you is the anxiety you feel leading up to the first appointment. The pregnancy didn’t feel real. The only “proof” I had was a pregnancy test and the paper from the health department saying I was positive for pregnancy. Neither the paper or the test made reality sink in.

I didn’t know for 3 weeks what was going on with my body. I didn’t know if the baby was okay and I was constantly googling all types of terrifying things. I wanted to prepare myself for whatever may happen. I didn’t want to get excited or get my hopes up because the scary reality is that anything can happen and it happens to lots of women all the time. I was trying to be responsible about the situation. This is one of the reasons why I didn’t post it publicly until after my 12–13 weeks were over. My anxiety leading up to the appointment was at an all time high. I could barely get any rest and I was stressing all the time. I prayed every single night. I can only speak for myself and how the waiting was for me, but if I can make one more person going through a similar situation feel less lonely, by sharing the truth, then that makes it all worth it.

Once the day of the ultrasound arrived, I was extremely nervous. I was mentally preparing myself for all types of scenarios. I am very lucky and grateful the baby was healthy. The only thing they found wrong was a cyst on my ovaries, but that is very common. The baby was very active for only being 9 weeks and 3 days. They were wiggling like a little worm. It made Ben & I laugh. I have to say the most incredible part was hearing the heartbeat. I will never forget it. I totally teared up. Ben was smiling ear to ear the whole time. Just like that, my anxiety went down loads.

Soon I will be giving an update on how my first trimester went! This is my last week in the first trimester. When it is over, I will give you a transparent look into what is was like for me. This includes the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Until Next Time,

Aubrey

--

--