Modals of obligation

Antonio Valencia
Books for English
Published in
2 min readSep 9, 2021

Must and Have to

Must

Must is a type of auxiliary modal verb used to express certainty, necessity or strong obligation which doesn’t come from outside, it’s a personal opinion. It also expresses prohibition in the negative form.

Affirmative

The structure is:
Subject + must + verb + …

  • I/You must work
  • He/She/It must work
  • We/You/They must work

For example:

I must visit my parents soon.” = The subject feels obligation.

Negative

The structure is:
Subject + must not + verb + …

  • I/You must not work
  • He/She/It must not work
  • We/You/They must not work

Short form of the negative form is: mustn’t.

For example:

You must not try drugs.” = It expresses prohibition.

Interrogative

The structure is:
Must + subject + verb + …?

  • Must I/you work …?
  • Must he/she/it work …?
  • Must we/you/they work …?

For example:

Must I do it now?” = The subject asks if he has to do it in that moment.

Have to

Have to is a type of auxiliary modal verb used to express certainty, necessity or strong obligation which comes from outside, from external factors.

Affirmative

The structure is:
Subject + have/has to + verb + …

  • I/You have to work
  • He/She/It has to work
  • We/You/They have to work

Negative

The structure is:
Subject + do/does + not + have to + verb + …

Subject do/does + not have to Verb I/You do not have to work He/She/It does not have to work We/You/They do not have to work

Interrogative

The structure is:
Do/Does + subject + have to + verb + …?

  • Do I/you have to work …?
  • Does he/she/it have to work …?
  • Do we/you/they have to work …?

--

--