Movies vs. Books! (pt. 2)

Emma Karsten
Books vs. Movies Project
2 min readOct 25, 2018

--

pt.1 cont…

Now, moving along to the opposing side we have Crystal Canchola(junior), who prefers books because, “In movies they miss a lot of details, and its not really the full story”. Most people who agreed with books said something similar to what Crystal said or something along the lines of, “Books, because I like to come up with my own ideas of the settings and the characters” (Addison Pickworth(freshman)). Also, Aaron Foster’s(sophomore) reason to side with books really stuck out to me when he said that, “There’s always more substance in a book than in a movie. It’s harder to fit a books worth into 2 hours, which is what a movie does”.

Now in my survey, 2 of the 26 people said that it depended on different factors. Maya Freeman said, “Normally if I have seen a movie that has a book I am more drawn to reading, and if I’ve read a book that has a movie then I’ll go watch the movie”. So technically she didn’t really give an answer, but Cade Fowler on the other hand said that, “It depends, like Hunger Games I’d watch the movie, but Diary of a Wimpy Kid I would read the book, because some movies aren’t as good”, and I can totally see why he would say that. Some books give off more suspense and they draw you in more, yet the details in books are powerful too. So, books or movies? What’s your opinion?

--

--