I Read 8 Romantic Novels In February, These Are the Ones that Were Worth It

And why I didn’t recommend the other books I read this month.

Hailey
Books Reviews
3 min readMar 4, 2024

--

All the books I read in February

Last month, I read 8 romantic novels. Most of them were recommendations from TikTok and GoodReads, and others were looking for something to read on the Kindle app.

Something about me is that I don’t read synopses or reviews; I trust all the hype I get from social media, cover, and my friends, so every book is a surprise of plots (but it’s also the reason why I read a lot of garbage, too).

So here are the books that were worth it from my list of reads of February and why I would recommend those novels to you.

The Cruel Prince saga

The Saga of the Cruel Prince is a fantasy trilogy that tells the story of Jude, a human who is forced to live in the world of Elfhame because her mother’s ex-husband kidnaps her along with her two sisters.

In the book, we see how the people of that world repudiate her for being human and weak and how she wants to do everything possible to belong to that world despite everything.

Despite being fantasy, I feel that this book has many things that make it interesting and relatable, especially the discrimination that a person has to go through in a foreign country.

The three books have many plot twists that keep you entertained, it is not predictable, and they have a story that keeps you wanting to know more about them.

Red, White, and Royal Blue

Red, White and Royal Blue is about the story of Alex, the son of the president of the United States, who is forced to make friends with the prince of England, Henry because they had a fight at his older brother’s wedding, which led them to bad press.

Having that friendship together, Alex discovers that he has feelings for Henry, and the book focuses on the development of their relationship.

I consider this book a 5/5 because it is simply so well constructed.

From the beginning, you can see the main character’s feelings and how his perception of life changes as the book progresses. It also shows the problems that famous people have in showing who they really are and how tough people can be just because someone is famous or public.

There’s no big drama or romanticized toxicity, just two people having normal problems in a fun, written way.

Archer’s voice and Travis books

Archer’s Voice and Travis are two books that talk about Hale’s romance in a small town with two girls who come there to escape their reality.

The first book is about Archer Hale and how, because he can’t talk, he is rejected by the people in the town until a girl comes and helps him have confidence and be accepted again. Travis is the story of his cousin and how he decided to change because he was a bad person in the past for a girl.

I consider those two books masterpieces because they are very well-written and very beautiful. It shows how love can help you be a better person and how no matter who you are, there is the best person for you that will love you and accept you no matter what.

Why I didn’t recommend the other books I read this month.

The other books didn’t meet my expectations because they show what love means incorrectly.

In the way I hate him, love is shown through manipulation and unnecessary rejection due to past traumas.

The American roommate experiment shows too much miscommunication, and the book could be summarized in 5 pages if the protagonists were clear from the beginning. Haunting Adeline is a dark romance, so it shows a romance between an abuser and a stalker.

Twisted Hate was the only book I stopped reading 50% because I couldn’t stand the lack of chemistry of the characters and how they normalize a relationship between two people who hate each other. I simply cannot tolerate humiliating a woman just because of how she looks, nor how bullying can lead to love.

Finally, even though I liked “King of Wrath,” I consider it to be too cliché and not a book for everyone, so I decided not to recommend it.

--

--