“Twisted Love” Book Review: What I Just Read?

Personal review of the book Twisted Love, by Ana Huang.

Hailey
Books Reviews
4 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

Photo by Daria Nepriakhina 🇺🇦 on Unsplash

I will be honest with all of you guys: I’m easily influenced by trends. I saw many people talking about a book, and it’s everything I would need to be hyped for reading it, too.

As I started my reading journey again, I decided to get recommendations for TikTok because I didn’t know what books were popular nowadays.

That’s where I came across Twisted Love. A “Romance” story about a girl who decides to get involved with her brother’s best friend.

And okay, I like clichés and all these types of plots like “My Brother’s Best Friend,” “My Boss,” and “My Neighbor,” but this book was not what I expected, and Falling in love with my brother’s friend was the least of problems.

Here I will tell you my opinions about it.

A little of context before my review

This book is basically about the typical girl who doesn’t have a “standard beauty,” Ava. Ava’s brother is going on a trip because of his education, so he decides to ask his best friend to take care of her “younger sister.”

His best friend, Alex, moves into the house next to Ava to protect her and take care of her.

Alex has a dark past because his family was murdered, so in the book, he is also trying to find his family’s murderer. And, of course, he is a millionaire boy with all the resources, technology, and knowledge.

So the book is based on Ava trying to make Alex “feel things” because he’s the typical mystery man who doesn’t laugh, while Alex takes care of her and solves the case of her dead family.

The positive aspects of the book

I really liked the beginning of the book. It felt like a basic story of a girl doing everything possible to achieve her goal.

I loved that the book had two points of view: Ava told her side of the story in one chapter, and Alex told her version of what was happening from her side. This gives the reader a clearer view of what happens on both sides, and I also like knowing what’s going through a man’s mind.

The author writes well. I like her style, which is simple but tries to cover everything in her character’s mind. It was easy to read and can be used as a way to de-stress after a hard day.

The negative aspects of the book

Saying that, I think 90% of the book is just bad.

The story is too long for nothing; it has a plot twist that doesn’t make sense, and at first, it starts with a story but ends with a completely different one. I feel like the author wanted to do so many things that she forgot why she started writing this book in the first place.

If you ask someone what the theme of the book is, they won’t be able to tell, because there are simply too many things going on:

  • A romance story
  • A murder mystery book
  • A revenge book
  • A second chance story
  • A harassment until you accept me book.
  • A book about helping someone recovering from a trauma.

At the end of the book, I didn’t know what was the main story, if it was revenge, a love story, how to ruin a girl’s life, or how to forgive someone without any logical reason.

I hated the male main character; he made me cringe at everything he did in the scene with Ava. He was the typical “you are mine, and I can do whatever I want with you because you belong to me,” but then he tried to push her away for nothing.

The execution of the progression of the relationship fell flat for me. Alex is not somebody you particulary like.

I feel that the only positive thing the protagonist had was that he was handsome and rich.

My final conclusion

I didn’t get why this book was so hyped.

The first part of the book was fine; it was like the typical romance story of a girl trying to make a boy fall in love. But the author just tried to cover too many things in one book.

While I can handle a man’s toxicity in books, this one just didn’t make much sense to me. Especially because the protagonist says how she hates men who follow her, and then the male character does exactly that, but she just accepts it.

The first half of the book was full of cute moments, but the last half kind of went down with all the things that the author tried to cover. Don’t tell me it’s a romance book, and then just convert it into a murder mystery plot.

I only enjoyed the first 50 pages of the book; then, I just read it to end my suffering. I didn’t like the characters, and I didn’t like the ending.

I don’t recommend this book at all, and I think that there are so many better options for people who want to read a story about a girl and her brother’s best friend romance story.

--

--