‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’ Raises the Stakes for Caesar — Film Review

The second movie in the reboot series is emotional and action-packed

Kieran O'Brien
Bookworms, Gamers, and Film Buffs

--

Credit: 20th Century Studios

Next up in my ‘Apes’ miniseries as I prepare myself for this year’s Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes is Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (2014), the second movie in the reboot series. A common opinion online seems to be that Rise, a slightly all-over-the-place movie that I nevertheless really enjoyed, is the worst of the lot, and that the series only gets better from there, so I was really excited to see this one.

The movie picks up quite literally where Rise left off, with an infographic of a map of the world tracking the spread of the ‘Simian Flu’ which wipes out 98% of humanity, only unlike the infographic in Rise’s credits, this one has soundbites and news clips to add to the effect!

Revolutionary, it is not, and I do think that skipping a movie charting the collapse of human society from Caesar’s point of view might be a missed opportunity, but I get it. It’s cleaner to do an infographic you’ve seen a thousand times and cut to ten years later. I guess I’m just a little curious about how Caesar handled things during that time.

Apes Together Strong

--

--

Kieran O'Brien
Bookworms, Gamers, and Film Buffs

Reviewer and novel writer from Ireland. Huge Sci-Fi and Fantasy fan whose goal is to pull writing lessons from these stories in form of reviews!