Are Other Baby Boomers The Only Ones Interested In Stories About Baby Boomers?

Charley Warady
Boomer Stories
Published in
3 min readMay 27, 2017

Sometimes when I tell stories of my youth to my adult children, they roll their eyes but, because they’re good kids, they patiently listen, laugh when they’re supposed to laugh, and are serious when they’re supposed to be serious. I don’t think they care. It’s not going to effect their lives one way or another, and the stories are certainly not historical or even monumental. The Lindbergh baby was kidnapped 53 years before I was born. I was immediately ruled out as a suspect.

The most famous criminal in the Baby Boomer’s generation was Richard Nixon, and no one believes I wrote the book “All The President’s Men” in 1974. I even told Trump voters that I wrote the book and only half of them believed me.

We had the best music ever. From his grave, Beethoven has been quoted as saying, “I think I could have written ‘Freebird’ if my hearing was better.”

We had Vietnam. Big deal. World War II was the last war the United States won, and that belonged to our parents. Sure, we had protests, and riots, and great drugs, and lots of sex (some people have told me), but we also had Qiana, which was the Ford Pinto of fabric. If a seed popped on a Qiana shirt, your whole upper body was immediately engulfed in flames. Try explaining that one to your parents when you walk into the house.

We had Mood Rings, for chrissakes. Many of you are now saying, “Oh yeah! I forgot about those.” Of course you forgot about those; along with your Pet Rock! Well, I got news for you; YOUR ROCK IS DEAD!

My kids look at me when I mention Vietnam and they say, “One war? You guys only had ONE war going on at the same time? And you protested about it?! There would be a parade in New York City if we could narrow it down to one war.”

It is kind of embarrassing, when you think about it.

My parents had this.

Baby Boomers had this.

I’ll still defend m-m-m-my generation. I still think it is the best and I will continue to defend it as the best generation, and I will continue to document my memories. But…well…you know…

Worth reading?

Please press the💚 below and share it with friends. It helps more people see it. And be a Follower of Boomer Stories

--

--

Charley Warady
Boomer Stories

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe