Baby Boomers Are Dying

Charley Warady
Boomer Stories
Published in
2 min readFeb 20, 2017

What is that all about?

Let’s get specific first. A Baby Boomer is someone who was born between the years of 1946 and 1964. I was born on July 28, 1955 at Michael Reese Hospital in Chicago.

I am a Baby Boomer. I’m now 61 years old. I’m older than former President Barak Obama; I’m older than every professional sports athlete; I oftentimes watch the news reporter Chris Wallace for the simple reason I liked his dad, Mike (who was also a news reporter).

This blog is about the best generation in history. We are a generation defined by the music we listen(ed) to. This blog is for the people who remember Mickey Dolenz riding an elephant, a miniature ringmaster’s costume, and having blonde hair. The name of the show was Circus Boy. That’s the last explaining you’re going to get. Obscure references, unless you were there, will remain obscure.

This blog is an autobiography. I don’t want to be an historian. I want to relate every detail I can remember from growing up. I was born when Eisenhower lived in the White House, but Kennedy was the first president I remember.

I’m not going to explain any Baby Boomer specific terms I use. Either Google it, or realize you can’t relate. I am non-apologetic. To other Boomers, you are welcome to comment and leave brief recollections of your own experiences during this most special time.

When it comes down to it, we are a generation defined by its music. It’s true that George “The Animal” Steel died a few days ago, Rowdy Roddy Piper left us in 2015 at the age of 39, and Randy “Macho Man” Savage died in 2011 at the age of 58.

But when David Bowie died on January 10, 2016 at the age of 69…I teared up and mourned. I realized my generation was dying.

The Who, in the song, ‘My Generation’, sang, “…hope I die before I get old…” had no idea that it’s too late. We’re old. Autobiographies are being written by rock stars instead of songs. They are basically 300 page epitaphs.

My life has been funny, so this blog is not going to be morose. I’ve had many jobs, but basically I’m a stand-up comedian who has alcoholism (sober since June 14, 1988), and has been diagnosed as being clinically depressed.

How can that not be funny?! You’re goddam right I’m a Boomer.

--

--

Charley Warady
Boomer Stories

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe