I Liked The Backup Band

Charley Warady
Boomer Stories
Published in
3 min readApr 14, 2017

We went to see Linda Ronstadt and discovered a legend

It was 1972. That part I remember. Maybe it was 1974. I remember that it was in Chicago at an outdoor venue. It might have been in Tinley Park at the World Music Theater. Anyway, it was to see Linda Ronstadt and we had great seats. Yes, today we may scoff at her, but if you’re a true Baby Boomer, you loved Linda Ronstadt and you know it.

She was great. It was the beginning of country, California, rock, and we all owned the album “Heart Like A Wheel.”

She was beautiful (don’t say, ‘…what happened?!’ and destroy the statement. I’m sticking with my memory, as all Baby Boomers do).

We couldn’t wait to get rid of the opening act. As a matter of fact, I remember the opening act beginning before the sun had completely set, and not everyone in their seats. The opening act was a band that Linda had basically put together. They called themselves The Eagles.

I sat down in my seat as soon as they started playing. One of the reasons was because we had already smoked a lot of weed, and another reason was because they sounded really good. And they were the opening act?

I could tell people were taking notice because people started sitting down and not all of them could have smoked as much weed as me. I remember telling my friend (I don’t remember which friend, or if he was a friend, or if I even knew him…did I say how much weed I smoked?), “These guys are really good! I think they might make it big someday.” I didn’t officially change my name to Captain Obvious, because at the time it wasn’t a guarantee.

Then, when the sun had set, Linda came out. But the band didn’t go anywhere! They were her backup band? It was a concert that I’ll never forget and I couldn’t tell you one song that they played. I just remember how beautiful both her and her voice were, and how the band almost outshined the headliner.

And then the next day Glenn Frey died. I know it wasn’t the next day; but again, that’s the way it is in my memory and that’s the way it will stay. He was 67.

None of us in that audience ever thought we would live to be 67, and now it seems to be so young. I mean, we believed that rock stars would OD and die…that was acceptable. But natural causes? Never even entered my mind.

J. Geils just died. The J. Geils Band was great. J. Geils was 71.

The newspaper report said he died of natural causes.

Worth reading?

Please press the💚 and share it with friends. It helps more people see it.

--

--

Charley Warady
Boomer Stories

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe