When I Wanted A Drivers License

Charley Warady
Boomer Stories
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2017

Cars are like….big deal…it has a motor

I know I sound like an old man. Probably because I am an old man; if one considers being 61 old…and I do. But if you notice the picture above, it’s gotten to the point where kids don’t even have to tie their shoes anymore. What for?

Those things are actually on wheels and motorized. One does not have to walk ever again. Walking was such a such a hassle, anyway. Bending the knees and such is a hassle. I’ve seen these being ridden in malls, so no need to worry about being inside.

There’s a utility for every balance level, and if you notice, the only parts of the body that need moving are the wrists…slightly.

I don’t think there’s a license needed for these machines, and if there is, the minimum age is 3.

You don’t need to wait until you’re 16 to become motorized mobile anymore (in Illinois the age was 16…I know it was different in different areas). There is no more thrill to getting your drivers license and drivers ed was such a pain in the ass.

Now, if you’re a walker like me, you can get run over on both the sidewalk AND the street! I have discovered that the safest way is walking on top of the line of parked cars. If you don’t mind the sound of alarms (a good set of earphones will solve this), it seems to be the safest and most efficient way of walking. Be careful of convertibles. Those canvass tops are not as sturdy as they look.

I’ve been bumped a few times by kids on those two-wheel motorized things. There was no damage done to me, but the question still had to be asked:

“May I see your license?”

--

--

Charley Warady
Boomer Stories

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe