Create Your Own Writing Journal

Mood and theme-enhancing journals can invigorate your writing

Lynda Coker
Boomerangs

--

Photo by Lynda Coker

I don’t know about you, but the older I get, the more things I find to write about. Even ordinary things seem to take on a whole new perspective and allure. Who knew that at this point in my life, I’d fall in love with ‘junk’…

One positive turn to the pandemic for me was the opportunity to spend more time making things like the junk journal above. And I discovered how to recycle trash into decorative elements to embellish my journals.

This junk journal cover was created using 12" x 12" double-sided scrapbook paper and fabric. But any lightweight chipboard, etc., could be used as well. Cereal boxes make great cover material and they can be decorated to suit your purpose.

Why Make Your Own Journal?

I’m one of those writers who is mood-motivated. Put me in the right mood and words flow like the waters over Niagra Falls. But keep in the mundane and my writing drys up like a Texas cattle pond in August.

I love to write fiction, particularly happy-ever-after romantic fiction. Ambiance, mood, inspiration, and state of mind are important writing-enhancing elements for me. Those are not things you can purchase at Walmart so it’s necessary to create my own.

I make romantic, fantasy, Victorian, and Shabby Chic journals to record my brainstorming ideas for my next work of fiction. They are fun to create and give me a break from writing, but they are even more fun to fill with possible story characters and scenes. When I’m done, they decorate my bookshelf until I’m ready to start building that world.

You may not be a fiction writer, so I’m sure you’re asking yourself what you would put in such a journal. Keep reading to the end of this article and you’ll find a long list of possibilities.

How To Build The Journal

Photo by Lynda Coker

Inside pages can be created from purchased digital kits or created from your personal drawings and artwork along with rescued papers that would normally be trashed.

8.5" x 11" copy paper is a good size and weight for inside pages. These pages are folded and then attached to the cover using a pamphlet stitch. This video will help you understand how to do the pamphlet stitch method.

The most fun is in creating the embellishments. Small crafty elements that create pockets and tucks and the fun things that go into them. Scraps of fabric, trim, torn paper, junk mail, torn magazine pages, used greeting cards, and used envelopes can be used as crafting supplies. The list is really only limited by your imagination.

Photo by Lynda Coker

The photo illustration on the left is a pocket I created from torn papers, fabric, and bits of trim. I sewed the elements together. When placed on one of my journal pages, I would choose two or three sides to glue to make a secure pocket into which I could slip other decorative elements. I like making small booklets and envelopes filled with slips of paper, old tickets, and ephemera to fill these pockets with interesting elements. And of course, those important story elements that create the plot for my next book.

Photo by Lynda Coker

A large piece of Ric Rak with bits of fabric scraps that are glued or sewn to the page at the top and bottom makes a fun belly band for tucking larger items in my journals. Small paper sacks or large envelopes can then be secured behind the belly band and gives more space to tuck away some treasures.

Other things that can be used as pages are large paper dollies, small paper gift bags, old book pages, old ledger pages, coffee or tea-stained paper, watercolor pages, etc.

How To Use A Junk Journal

These are just suggestions. You’re only limited by your imagination and passion for a specific idea, memory, event, goal, etc.

  • Memory keeping is always appropriate
  • Future goals, strategies, and progress
  • Special planner
  • Note-taking for conventions, meetings, seminars, classes, where you want to remember key points
  • Scripture/Bible meditations
  • Personal diary
  • Guest/Friendship registry or sign/autograph book
  • Coffee Table book
  • Yearbooks for high school and college
  • Special Event Planner
  • Dream journal
  • Daily habits
  • Tracker for TV, Movie, Music favorites
  • Logbook
  • Financial log and receipt keeper
  • Doodle art and glue book
  • Wish lists
  • Brilliant Idea collections
  • Words of wisdom and encouraging quotes
  • Celebrate small achievements and wins
  • ‘Let it go’ lists
  • ‘Want to-do lists
  • Log important questions you want to find the answers to.
  • Record friendships and why they were successful or not.
  • Map occupational goals
  • Poetry
  • Therapy journal
  • Wedding planner
  • Fashion journal
  • Dream Home journal
  • Sticker/stamp collection
  • Career Events
  • Gratitude journal

The most important thing about a junk journal is the fun of creating and using this unique treasure. Why not take a second look at what you throw away as trash and see if you can be inspired to make something truly special.

--

--

Lynda Coker
Boomerangs

I write about life, fictional worlds, and anything that catches my interest. I also design and create with textiles. Icky Chic Desings on Etsy